relationship with a manic/depressive...???

dolfette

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
leave.

i'm only half joking. there's only room for one mad person in my relationships and it's bloody well going to be me.

my serious advice is to never blame yourself for their moods. whatever they might say.

D_Sparroe Spongecaques

Experimental Member
Media
With kid gloves,it will never be easy,be supportive and develop a very thick skin as one day you'll be the devil incarnate (according to your partner) and the next the best thing since sliced bread.

Get support for yourself as well as some days you'll feel like cracking up yourself.

Good luck!

JacobFox

Cherished Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
99% Gay, 1% Straight
I'm not an expert on the subject. I have been seeking a degree in psychology for a few years and now still working towards it. But if your post is serious, listen to PrincessTasha because she laid it out for you clearly.

I'm a psychology PHD student who suffers from OCD and my boyfriend is a philosophy major who suffers from major depression. We barely agree on the time of day... but I love him and he loves me so much that he puts up with my bullshit...

The best way to deal with someone different than you is simply to show them how much you love them. If you both agree on the love.. you are cool :)

SpeedoMike

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
don't think you can cure the person... you can't. I've been diagnosed with bipolar disorder and been disabled by it for 25 years ago. I don't have any fantasy thoughts that someone is going to sweep me off my feet, fix me, and make me forever happy. persons suffering from a less serious condition may be more able to deal with it, but still can't expect someone to cure him.

love for the person simply may not be enough to provide coping skills to help you thru rough times. but you can try.

SandraSmithCarver

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Straight, 10% Gay