Annoying Stereotypes...

B_Think_Kink

Sexy Member
Media
I was thinking about this in the shower today after my house cleaner left...

-All through high school people on my bus poked jokes at me for having a house cleaner... saying I must be rich. I hated that so much.

-I've been harassed at work for being allowed to drive my parents brand new Dodge Truck, and Ford Escape... Spoiled and rich I was called again.

We've discussed sexual orientation stereotypes, what other's do you know of that you hate? Maybe things that were said to and about you at some point.

D_Humper E Bogart

Experimental Member
Media
Being intelligant and black makes people think I'm a freak. I wear glasses and keep excellant posture as well as great vocabulary so people tend to think I'm a lawyer or slimeball or other wigga design.

It's why I like my area so much. It's full of friendly scum. :) (Even if they do want to destroy all infidels, or so it seems!)

No_Strings

Expert Member
Media
-I'm a teenager, therefore not an adult. (Or more specifically, a man)

-I curse, drink and play football, therefore I'm a chav or yob (English colloqualism, see Here

I could go on about all the sterotypes that come with being an 18 year old male, but there's one recurring situation, which both extremely angers me, and almost makes me want to cry.

When out walking (be it with friends or on my own), whenever I pass a woman of a certain age and up (say, mid-twenties), I'll notice them swerve away ever so slightly, clutch their handbag a little tighter, try and avoid eye contact. (Which has an added bonus of annoyance as I adore eye contact with anyone, for any reason - it's probably my primary form of communication. And I'll wait until any eye contact with a stranger before nodding an hello))

I'm a young guy, with dark eyes and now sporting an alcohol induced crewcut - apparently this makes me more likely to mug someone in crowded daylight than anyone else on the same street. :rolleyes:

snoozan