Appearing gay in professional situations

ColonialBoy

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
Guys I've been on this forum a few years and this is the first thread I have made. I say in my profile I'm 50% gay 50% straight but in all honesty I only get emotionally very attached to guys. I'm pretty much in the closet and only talk about my orientation to close friends.

I work on contract for large companies, anywhere from a few weeks to a year at each workplace. These companies tend to be male dominated such as telecoms or information technology. I'm a management consultant and I'm paid a good salary to do a professional job.

The problem is people start getting a 'gay vibe' and some individuals get very uncomfortable. I've talked about it to consultants from my own company who are close friends they understand but its a totally inappropriate impression to give to a client.

The scenario goes like this
- I start working on a new job
- I notice guys walking past my desk. No big deal. But after a few weeks I subconsciously look at some more than others, they start giving suspicious looks back
- I get embarrassed (or have social anxiety) and start "gaze aversion", trying not to look at them at all, which makes them a LOT more suspicious.

All this starts making me look like a total weirdo. Its not something I can really talk about to the people concerned because most of the time I dont even know them.

Anybody been in a similar situation & how do you handle it.

zpacifico

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
Being in closet makes a social contacts more stressful, especially when approaching someone one might fancy. Just take your time and you will feel more relaxed. No one should be discriminated because of his/hers sexual orientation in general. Considering where you live all this should not be a problem, you live in Australia not Uganda.

bryan257

Legendary Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response