Aquariumists? (probably not a word)

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by hornplayer_69, Mar 28, 2010.

1. hornplayer_69

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo
    Hey I am fairly new to owning an aquarium but have become kind of obsessed i have went from a 30 gallon to a 56 gallon and have it stocked with african cichlids and a synodontis catfish. Anyone else here into anything simular? YouTube - 56 gallon African Cichlid aquarium a vid of my aquarium on youtube.

2. B_Lightkeeper

B_Lightkeeper New Member

How about the term "Aquamarinist?" I just made it up (I think) so it may not even be a real word.

I had a 60-gallon tank once time and enjoyed it - although my poodle loved it more by sitting in a chair next to it and staring for hours. Changing the tank was a no-fun affair and after the fish got ick (?) I gave it up.

3. AquaEyes11010

AquaEyes11010 Active Member

Albums:
    The term you're both thinking of is "aquarists" and refers to people who are interested in maintaining aquariums. I had a 75gal freshwater planted tank with a pair of angel fish, big school of cardinal tetras, freshwater shrimp and lots of others. I loved it. Unfortunately, I had a filter disaster overnight that left me with a tank of dead critters the following morning. Because I was planning on going back to school in a year or so at the time, I didn't set it up again, and gave it to a friend for his bearded dragon. I'd love to set up another but have decided to wait until I own my home and won't have to worry about breaking it down if I move. Maybe I'll try some nano tanks in the near future. My dream is a 200gal (or bigger) planted discus aquarium....ah, someday....

:)

4. helgaleena

Gold Member

Albums: