Are Pedophiles Born or Made?

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by earllogjam, Jun 29, 2011.

1. earllogjam

Gold Member

Is pedophilia a choice? A sexuality that cannot be controlled but only suppressed?

Or is pedophilia a choice? Much like many people view homosexuality.

2. D_Tim McGnaw

D_Tim McGnaw Account Disabled

Ugh, horrible OP Earl. I predict horrors.

Needless to say I don't have any advanced qualifications in the field of psychiatry so I'm not an expert but from what I've read there seems to be no firm indication as to whether peadophilia is the result of inherent traits or conditioned behaviours a person is exposed to in childhood.

I believe the balance tips towards it being something which is provoked by experiences of abuse of one kind or another but that there may be inherent factors at play also.

I also think that the more it's studied the less psychiatrists believe that peadophilia is actually a sexuality in the same way as heterosexuality, homosexuality and bisexuality are. I mean there's always been a reason it's called a "philia" as opposed to a sexuality and that seems to be born out by the science.

#2 D_Tim McGnaw, Jun 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2011
  3. DV8

DV8
    Gold Member

Albums:
    I believe it's like sexuality in general. No one can say whether or not something is nurture or nature. What we don't generally understand is that those paths are not mutually exclusive. Something such as sexual preferences and even mannerisms can be passed down genetically, and we never really see that. My dad was out of my life from age 2 until he was dying, so I was about 14. My mother has told me that I have his penmanship, I have his voice, and I always speak with my hands, just like him.