Assisted Suicide - Could you?

Yes. It would have to be a really close friend or family member though. I don't think I could do it for a stranger.

nudeyorker

Admired Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
I've never talked about this before, but I have done this. I think enough water has run under the bridge to break the silence. (It was for a very dear friend dying of Aids)

Industrialsize

Mythical Member
Gold
Platinum Gold
Media
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
I used to work as a Nurse on an Oncology floor in a Major hospital in Boston. I can tell you that "assisted suicicide" goes on ALL the time in hospitals. Doctors would prescribe for terminal patients, a continuos infusion of Morphine with quite a WIDE range to be determined at the Nurse's discretion. After discussion between the Nurse, Patient, and their family it would be determined what the "plan" was. When the plan was"keep me comfortable, or I don't want to suffer" the Nurse had to make a decision. Increased doses of Morphine almost always by depressing the breathing reflex. Often times, doses of Morphine, sufficient to Keep a Patient comfortable were also doses that would be ultimately fatal. On the floor I worked, Nurses would call it, Dialing him home to Jesus". If that's not assisted suicide I don't know what else is.So I guess the answer to the question is "Yes, I could"........and my hope would be that someone would also do the same for me if I was the patient.

Northland

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
Just a question with all the hype with regards to assisting someone to die, Could you do it?.
Guidance on assisted suicide gets first airing | Society | guardian.co.uk

Hard to say.