Between the Stacks

Discussion in 'Fictitious Stories' started by Crataegus, May 23, 2011.

1. Crataegus

Crataegus Member

Hello, all! This is my first attempt at writing a story of this sort, so I hope you enjoy! It's only just started, and there's not much 'action' yet, but hopefully in the next couple chapters I can get to 'the good bit'.

Between the Stacks

Chapter One:

My best friend has a saying: The only people who become librarians are old women, pædophiles, and nerds. It's probably not true (after all, I know at least one person who works at the library who's a year younger than I, dumb as a brick, and happily-married-thank-you-very-much), but I know that in my case, unfortunately, it's true. Not the first two, obviously (I'm neither old, nor a woman, and I'm certainly not a pædophile!); I'm rather a nerd. I admit it, I read Proust and Joyce for fun, think that the state of literature these days is disgusting, and rue the day that I ever decided that an English degree was going to be too expensive and too useless to continue with.

It's probably not the most interesting story, that of a university drop-out who takes evening-courses to get a certification to be a librarian. Which is why I won't tell you more than the need-to-know things. It's important to know, for instance, that I'm from a middle-class Scottish family, was terrible at sports, and only achieved a satisfactory physique after I decided that being mistaken for a short fat highschool student wasn't exactly my cup of tea. You should also know that I'm especially fond of being looked down on by men who decide that, just because I happen to be shorter than average—at a proud, if not desirable 5'3”—I also should be given the same level of respect as a petulant teen.