Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
Hi,

I just wanted to leave this link here for my blog about being gay and Muslim. Feel free to leave comments either here or on the blog. I'm new to blogging so would love feedback.

Thanks

https://theguyginamonologues.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

Beedie Tijii

Legendary Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
Do you want feedback on your writing itself, or on the views and experiences it expresses?

Kudos for sharing this with people, as there aren't many gay muslim voices out there, for obvious reasons. I've come across some relatively gay-friendly, liberal muslims in London, but they are invariably university-educated muslims in their twenties or early thirties. It sounds like you need your own space and autonomy, and soon.

Heterosexual people reading that ask yourself when you chose to be straight, then ask me when I chose to be gay. If you can't remember or feel you didn't have to chooser, then neither did I. Ergo we were both born the way we were.
I accept this argument, but I nonetheless have some follow-up questions about the above excerpt. Do you remember making an informed decision to believe in Allah, prior to realising that you were gay? Or do you feel that you were 'born muslim' in almost the same way that you were 'born gay'?

Also, this is minor, but you start a sentence with 'the hadith states...' but you don't mention which hadiths you follow or may be referencing (regarding sodomy etc). Different scholars and clerics classify different hadiths with varying degrees of authenticity -- and don't always agree with each other, even within the same denomination of Islam -- so it might be helpful for other Muslim readers out there to know a bit more about which hadiths you follow, and why. Hey, maybe this could be a future blog! :p

a21f

Cherished Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight