Blue Collar Gay Guys

earllogjam

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
I was wondering if there are any blue collar gay guys on this board and how you deal with your gayness at work. Are you out and is it OK or do you just keep it to yourself? Do you ever resent the gay stereotypes which never fit you?

Dave NoCal

Superior Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
This doesn't really qualify because I'm a teacher. But I live in a small community out of town and do a lot of physical work. For example, I basically built my house and pretty routinely use and work on various kinds of tools. Anyway, most of the neighbors are blue collar businessmen. That is HVAC contractor, electical contractor, manufactured home salesperson, masonry supply business owner. Everyone knows of our situation and pretty much everyone has been friendly. They will ask in a normal neighborly way "How is James?" or "Can I borrow your compressor?" or "do you need to borrow my backhoe?" I treat it as a non-issue and it seems like others do too.
Dave

Reactions: JohnnyDanger610

Lucky_Luke

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Gay, 10% Straight
I was wondering if there are any blue collar gay guys on this board and how you deal with your gayness at work. Are you out and is it OK or do you just keep it to yourself? Do you ever resent the gay stereotypes which never fit you?
All it does is reinforce the stereotype that blue collar workers are a bunch of uneducated rednecks.

I work with lots of them. It is really hard to not assume they are all uneducated rednecks when they work so hard to prove it on a daily basis.

Most of them hate niggers and pakis more than they hate homos though. Such kind hearted souls they are.

Oddly enough - some of the most interesting and intelligent 'blue collar' types I've ever met are the non-white ones. I can't imagine how they put up with the bullshit of their asshole co-workers though.