Can a break ever be good?

D_Claude_Crowsfoot

Account Disabled
Media
So I kind of know the answer to this, but I need some input and advice from the LPSG community.

I've been with my gf for 2 1/2 years. It's a serious realtionship. She's 21, I'm 23. We met in college, however, I graduated and went onto graduate school and she is still in college with one year left. We're still together after a year of doing a long distance relationship. The distance between us is 400 miles, so it is a short plane flight or a long drive to see her. I am able to visit her every 3-4 weeks, but that's not enough.

She has been struggling with the long distance relationship and is pretty much miserable without me. We are deeply in love, and there is no question that we both want to continue this relationship far into the future. However, she has had many complaints about being apart. One of these complaints is that she needs someone. She explained it as an emotional void. Usually when she needed to be comforted, touched, or talked to, I was there, but due to the distance, I can't be. She suggested a break so that we can get some time apart. We have both deeply discussed going on a break with the intention of experiencing other people. Basically her reasoning for this would be she would be able to fill that void. We're not naive, we know what happens on a break. We discussed it and she is leaning towards going through with it, but she's more worried about what, or who, I will find.

My question is...is this a good idea? She is by no means a slut, whore, etc. In fact, she is very quiet, doesn't drink or do drugs, and is a model student. So her personality isn't one that would be running around sporeading her legs for the first thing that came around.

Has anyone had experiences like this? Will going on a break really strengthen our relationship, or will it just hurt it even more. I'm looking for your opinion.

Cliff Notes: GF wants a break. Wants to see other people. Yes, no, maybe so?