Computer connection help

DaveyR

Retired Moderator
Media
Sexuality
No Response
I seem to have a problem in that my laptop constantly disconnects from my wireless router at times. I've been taking notice when it happens and it is always when I am on certain websites. When it does happen it takes quite a few attempts before I can reconnect. Any ideas? Is it my laptop? Interference from other electrical equipment, my router or my ISP? I'm not that technically minded when it comes to computers but I don't think it is a coincidence that it only seems to happen with certain sites.

Can someone enlighten me please and guide me with putting this right?

gigantor68

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
How strong is the signal?

It could even be anti virus that is preventing the connection, try disabling the anti virus and see if it makes a difference.

DaveyR

Retired Moderator
Media
Sexuality
No Response
How strong is the signal?

It could even be anti virus that is preventing the connection, try disabling the anti virus and see if it makes a difference.

The signal is full strength. I have avast antivirus so I'll try disabling it the next time I access any of the sites that seem to affect my connection. Thanks for your help.

MarkLondon

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Gay, 1% Straight
If you're in the same room as the router, why not get a wire? A simple ethernet cable. It'll give you a much faster as well as more reliable and secure connection. As a temporary measure you'll be able to determine if it is the wireless connection that's causing the problem.

Also, when using a cable you can usually switch off the wireless signal and cease exposing yourself to unnecessary electromagnetic radiation, stop the neighbours piggy-backing on your connection and prevent passing google vans from snooping your passwords!

DaveyR

Retired Moderator
Media
Sexuality
No Response