Contrary Couples

Discussion in 'Relationships, Discrimination, and Jealousy' started by ClaireTalon, Jan 24, 2006.

1. ClaireTalon

Gold Member

Something that I have no experience with, but find it extremely interesting. Do you believe in something like contrary couples, ie, couples that personify great differences in interests, or physically? Or even better, do you have first-hand experience?

From my purely theoretical point of view, I can't imagine those couples to be very long-lasting. Maybe for the moment, but nothing for the long run.

2. RideRocket

Gold Member

As far as high profile couples, you have James Carville and Mary Matalin - both definitely on extremes.

As long as you maintain an open line of communication with your significant other, things should be ok.

3. Shelby

Gold Member

also Schwarzenegger/Kennedy

4. Matthew

Gold Member

Physical differences in couples don't surprise me. The differences in interests (i.e. big political divides as mentioned above) do. Don't understand how those can work. Hot sex is one thing -- building a life together is totally different.

5. Pene_Negro_Grande

Gold Member

Most of my friends are like that....Really multicultural and religion....

6. Webster

Webster New Member

My best friend and his partner (also a close friend) are celebrating 30 years together as of next month. On the surface, they seem like a very incompatable couple. Through the years they have each changed many aspects of their lives. But they are a testament that true love survives through all the changes, troubles and challenges that 30 years can bring to a relationship.

7. Webster

Webster New Member

Contrary couples?
    My parents never got along.
    Same with both sets of grandparents...................

8. Irish

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo
    Physically different...