Diabetic Thread

D_Fletchyer Flagpole

Sexy Member
Media
Hey LPSGers!

Been here a while and thought I'd start a thread about what it's like being a diabetic. The daily routine of insulin injections--or pumps--for newer diabetics, blood glucose monitoring, dealing with highs and lows and talking about some of the complications or fears about diabetes.

I'm really concerned with the huge increase in the number of newly diagnosed diabetics and the fact that in short time, you're given a lot to deal with and learn. I was hoping to use this thread as a way to help you assimilate all the information and share concerns and fears. Mind you, I am not a doctor and do not want anyone to think this thread will be a great place for medical advice or treatment suggestions--that's what your doctor is for!! BTW, if there are any medical experts who want to join and contibute--by all means please do!!

While I am no doctor, I have plenty of experience with diabetes, having lived with it for the past 18 and a half years. I want people to know that they can live with and treat this disease. The only thing--you have to be the one who controls it, not the other way around.

Let me start this off with my own story. I had been feeling run down quite a bit and was constantly going to the bathroom. Add to that that I dropped about 45 pounds without any exercising. I figured I was either diabetic or pre-diabetic, so I booked an appointment with my doctor. He scheduled me for some blood tests. It was Friday, March 1, 1991, when I got the call from my doctor that I was a type 1 diabetic. That day, he called me in to go over blood sugar testing, dieting, exercising, hyper/hypo glycemia, what to do when sick and my favorite topic--injecting insulin!!!! I walked out of that office not knowing whether I was on foot or horseback. Took the weekend to calm myself down and started reading as much as I could about this disease. Remember knowledge is a powerful tool against any adversary.