Does Firefox for XP Have a Memory Leak?

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by jason_els, May 8, 2008.

  1. jason_els

    jason_els <img border="0" src="/images/badges/gold_member.gi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,576
    Likes Received:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warwick, NY, USA
    I'm noticing of late that since an upgrade of Firefox, it's memory usage has ballooned. My PC was going slowly so I checked the task manager just now and sure enough, there was Firefox using 687MB of RAM doing nothing more than just browsing LPSG (and not even the galleries). It really doesn't matter what sites I'm visiting, eventually Firefox just turns into a memory hog.

    Any ideas or anyone else experiencing this? Firefox didn't used to do this.
     
  2. Industrialsize

    Staff Member Moderator Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,319
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States
    Firefox works perfectly on a mac
     
  3. suasponte

    suasponte New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Mines only using 73MB. I dunno.
     
  4. Beanie

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    805
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South wales, UK
    Verified:
    Photo
    this happend to me when im using WMP i cant use anything else while its on coz itll just crash! i cant even pause anything because the mem shoots up and takes 100% usage just from WMP and then i unpause and its at about 2 frames a second!
     
  5. thedrainman

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Isle of Wight, UK
    Verified:
    Photo
    Mine is fine at 34Mb - latest version 2.0.0.14 on XP Pro , Intel Dual core and 4Gb memory.
     
  6. No_Strings

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    6
    Memory leak or not, I'm barely content with Firefox nowadays; tabs seem to kill ~2.5GHz CPUs.
    I'm not going to switch to Opera though as I don't use IRC anymore.
    *sigh*
     
  7. prickleyguy

    prickleyguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    377
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Santa Fe (NM, US)
    Mine is using 21meg, I suggest that you clear your cache (go to tools "clear private data") on a regular basis, Firefox retains a lot in case of an interrupted session, it is able to restore itself to the last session. If you have been viewing a lot of videos and Photos these all add up. Also rebooting your PC a couple of times a week never hurts (Unless you shut it off every night anyway)
    Good Luck
     
  8. faceking

    faceking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,535
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mavs, NOR * CAL
    Actually, my Firefox on Mac just hogs ridiculous memory. and has crashed my PowerBook way too much. Does slow a lot on a PC desktop I have, but relatively stable on my PC laptop.

    Go figure.
     
  9. faceking

    faceking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,535
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mavs, NOR * CAL
    BTW, about 252MB right now, but I have 3GB on this laptop, so perhaps it's relative.
     
  10. Mem

    Mem
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,087
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    FL
    I don't have any problems with it. I have Vista prem. IE was crashing too much so I started using Firefox and I like it much better. I have 2 windows open(10 tabs) sometimes it is a little slow but most of the time it is fine.
     
  11. B_ScaredLittleBoy

    B_ScaredLittleBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,337
    Likes Received:
    8
    33.7MB

    Browsing LPSG.

    Is it possible that you have spyware or something else running on your PC?

    I suggest you run something like Ad-Aware and HijackThis.
     
  12. findfirefox

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Firefox is known for being quite the memory hog over time thoughout the industry.

    The next (and current beta) corrects this problem, you may try the beta but be aware it is not... there quite yet.
     
  13. HotBulge

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,181
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lowells talk to Cabots, Cabots talk to God
    I've noticed memory leaks with Firefox in previous versions, but not recently as of the past 2 updates. (That's approximately 3 months).

    Consider downloading the latest copy of Firefox, uninstalling the old version, (reboot your computer), and then load the new version of Firefox.
     
  14. TinyPrincess

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,193
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2,504
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    London (GB)
    Mine is just using 18 MB with all the extras (FoxLingo, FoxyTunes, Google Photos, IE Tab, NoScript, PDF Download, Tab Effect, Tab Mix Plus, TurnTool Viever) loaded but before opening anything but google.

    No memery leak here with latest Firefox
     
  15. Yonkers

    Yonkers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Mine's using 67mb on a 2.53GHz CPU with 1gb RAM, Win XP SP2. Never had a problem with it.

    Yonkers.
     
  16. Pecker

    Pecker Retired Moderator
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    83,922
    Likes Received:
    34
  17. jason_els

    jason_els <img border="0" src="/images/badges/gold_member.gi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,576
    Likes Received:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warwick, NY, USA
  18. B_Think_Kink

    B_Think_Kink New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10,742
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Female
    mines only using 61,944K and it's running three tabs...
     
  19. transformer_99

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Mac people that use Firefox, might want to try out Camino. It's Mozilla's true web browser for Apple OS X.

    Camino. Mozilla Power, Mac Style
    Camino. Features

    This has basically forced Apple's hand at updating Safari to be a modern web browser. Unfortunately Windows IE hasn't followed suit for OS X.
     
  20. jason_els

    jason_els <img border="0" src="/images/badges/gold_member.gi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,576
    Likes Received:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warwick, NY, USA
    Well....

    Not even one day's usage and I find it using 314MB and 99% processor power. I'm beginning to not like Firefox anymore.

    I do use it on my Mac and love it.

    I checked for spyware, trojans, and viruses; put in the fix Pecker suggested which helps somewhat; but otherwise the issue is still there.

    I've tried Camino, just didn't see it as any better than Firefox. I'm going to have to see. Thanks again for the replies.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted