Dreams or Stability: A crossroad

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by lopo2000, Apr 1, 2010.

1. lopo2000

Gold Member

This might be a long post...

I am on a crossroad now. I have to choose between an uncertain dream or a certain requirement. Since I did my bachelor, I have been dreaming to do Forensic Psychology, but it's not available in my country, so I was planning to do it abroad. When I graduated, I applied for this one scholarship to do masters, and I was accepted, on a condition that I could secure a seat for graduate prog in 4 months. It's great, at least I could do a masters program, but the scholarship provider didn't allow me to go abroad, which means my dream to do Forensic Psychology was gone. If I'm to receive the scholarship, it's for a masters program in Social Work, which is not my interest at all. However, still, another good thing about this scholarship is that I'd have a job after finishing my masters, because I'll be a lecturer, which is good.

And I accepted it, I thought this kind of opportunity only comes once. Until lately, I heard a news that I could apply for a scholarship, another one, by Turkish government where I could further my masters at Turkey. When I searched for Forensic Psychology prog, Turkey has one! So, I was happy and thought of applying for the scholarship, especially when the scholarship provider said that my CGPA is good and I am very likely to be accepted as one of the recipients. Until yesterday I found out that the amount I will be receiving for the scholarship is little that it will hardly cover my meal for the month. I will only receive 220 Turkish Lira and it won't be enough. Especially after graduation there'll be no job secure for me. So, I really have to think twice about applying this, but when I think again, it's my dream. It's Forensic Psychology, and it's finally there, waiting for me to apply.