Erection problems, Quitting Smoking

Discussion in 'The Healthy Penis' started by 5ftandhuge, Oct 10, 2005.

1. 5ftandhuge

5ftandhuge New Member

Hi all newbie here.
    I am a 39 y/o male that smokes and has High blood pressure and High cholesterol.
    They are both controlled by medication.
    I have a nice sized penis prolly about 8" long by 7" around. Problem is I don't get hard like I used to. I am wondering if anyone here quit smoking and if you did, did your erections improve? I also was wondering if the meds I take can be causing the lack of rock hardness. I take Diovan for the HBP and Zocor/Zetia for the Cholesterol. I also take a small amount of Paxil for ADD. Any experience with this would be helpful. Thank You.

2. fri2219

fri2219 Member

First off, if you don't believe a word I say, at least pay attention to this: Don't get advice from forums on the internet. Talk to your doctor. That's why you're paying him/her the big bucks.

That said: You have several overlapping issues: From least important to most-

High blood pressure trashes the blood vessels in your dick, so the hydraulic pressure you used to have just isn't attainable anymore. There are a zillion different drug treatment strategies for it, so it's impossible to say if your treatment course is a contributing factor.

Paxil is frequently cited in cases of ED. Paxil is extremely useful in helping smoking cessation. (see below) Wellbutrin is often prescribed as a substitute in cases where this proves to be a long term problem, since not every SSRI works well with every patient. Thanks to genetic differences in your brain and liver, some patients need to try another class of anti-anxiety (or anti-depressant) drug, like Wellbutrin.

But, you have much bigger things to worry about.

ED is the first thing that happens when you've begun to suffer from coronary artery disease. Think of it as the body shutting off non-essential functions to keep the brain and heart going.