EU Ponies Up Trillion Dollar Rescue

D

deleted15807

And just when all the pundents were saying that Brussels couldn't do it.

E.U. Details $957 Billion Rescue Package

BRUSSELS — European leaders, pressured by sliding markets and doubts over their ability to act decisively, agreed on Monday to provide a huge rescue package of nearly $1 trillion in a sweeping effort to combat the debt crisis that has engulfed Europe and threatened markets around the world.

Officials are hoping the size of the program — a total of $957 billion — will signal a “shock and awe” commitment that will be viewed in the same vein as the $700 billion package the United States government provided to help its own ailing financial institutions in 2008. The package represented an audacious step for a bloc that had been criticized for acting tentatively, and without unity, in the face of a mounting crisis.

maxcok

Expert Member
Media
Lord knows, I am no expert on Euro Politics, but my understanding was if Britain is not on board it could scuttle the whole deal. Which is by no means assured. Anyone over there want to enlighten us ignorant merichuns?

DexterMorgan

Superior Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
50% Straight, 50% Gay
It's a good first step....but, there are still many variables. Such as whether or not the affected countries (Greece, Portugal, Italy, Ireland, and Spain) will have the political strength to enact and enforce budget austerity. The biggest weakness of the EU is that even though they are unified economically, they are not unified politically. I believe I heard Angela Merkel's Christian Democrats lost pretty big over the weekend. How long will the economically secure Northern European countries be willing to subsidize the economically weaker Southern European countries. I believe we will find many countries will find it more politically palpable to exit the EU....rather than endure severe financial austerity for the good of the European Union.

D