Finally !

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by transformer_99, Nov 5, 2006.

1. transformer_99

Gold Member

The Linux distro I prefer comes out with a new version, download it and do the upgrade thing. Talk about trashing a computer system. Had to do a clean install, and get back to where I was before with the original install. I'm pleased with it now, but yesterday the autoupdate feature gives me 2 dl's for xorg, only one line of code for an option is set to "off" when it should be set to "on" in a conf file and I'm perplexed for hours today figuring it out.

I guess I'm a better man for it, but this was an adventure and a half. First off, I'm set to auto login as a default user. That line of code cause the desktop to lock up, so there's no way of going in as the admin. So now I have to trouble shoot it from the rescue login for the kernel. It's not that this doesn't scare me, but I've never done that before and I get this DOS like Unix prompt. So I finally figure out "gdm as root" is the command line that gets me a gui that is workable to change the autologin to disable. If you are at the point where you don't know what I'm babbling about, that was me with a Unix prompt. After that, it's all I could do to not bash this thing into smithereens. I thought I was going to have to start from ground zero again, until I saw that line of code setting an option for opengloverlay to "off" in the xorg.conf file for the ATi drivers that are installed.

Anyhow, sometimes you have to suffer for something that is free.

2. B_fka_boyertown_casket

Phew! Thank goodness.

3. transformer_99

Gold Member

Check out the screenshot !

Screenshot.jpg

BTW, this is only a fraction of the resolution 480X360, the actual desktop is 1600X1200 resolution.

4. mindseye

Gold Member

I'm still using 6.06 Dapper Drake, mostly because I like to wait a few weeks and see what issues the early-adopters like you find.

Glad you got this up and running, though.

5. transformer_99