For the foodies

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by iluv2xlr8, Nov 29, 2010.

1. iluv2xlr8

iluv2xlr8 Member

If you were to suggest any cookbooks for someone looking to learn various cooking styles and techniques (and too poor to take classes, lol). What would you suggest?

P.S. I'm a complete novice at cooking.

2. The Dragon

The Dragon New Member

Well there is Jamie Olivers cooking website which has very easy recipes and you need not have to buy a book at all.
    He has a "Ministry of Food" that is all about teaching novices to cook interesting meals.
    It's free to join which is also a huge bonus.

3. luka82

Gold Member

You should start by making recipes you like, the easy ones.
    Call your mother, and I really mean it, for advice.
    Or call someone whose cooking you have enjoyed. Give it some time, but don`t give up. In my opinion there is no such thing as a natural tallent for cooking, I love it, I`m good at it but i was taught how to do it.
    In time you`ll start experimenting with herbs and spices and learn how to adjust recipes to your own taste.
    The only advice I can give you is when you use different spices you should put them enough to taste but not make any of them dominant.

4. Mem

Mem
    Gold Member

Go online and get some recipes. I don't cook much, but I baked my first Thanksgiving turkey this year from hints I read online and it was the best turkey I ever had.

5. D_Rosalind Mussell

D_Rosalind Mussell New Member

Try Julia Child's A Way To Cook. It's supposed to be fantastic for those who don't have very little to no experience in the kitchen.

6. MonsterUncut

MonsterUncut Active Member

Albums: