Foreign accents - vexing and befuddling

QwentyJ1987

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Straight, 1% Gay
Ladies,

Something perplexes me.

I have recieved feck all attention from lasses in Britain for most of my life (begin with self - depreciative opening....check). It's not something I'm remotely perturbed by - I've still got the rest of my life to live (cross fingers and touchwood) at the age of 21.

However, I'm studying abroad this year in a foreign country and I met a really nice girl the other day who is a Greco-American: Greek, but brought up in America. I exchanged pleasantries with her and after about 5 seconds she freaked out over my Britishness, which I found rather charming yet aslo veey intriguing at the same time.

So the rest of the night consisted of me saying things like 'cucumber' and 'trolley'.

I'm nothing special really, just an average looking chap. I have an RP accent if that pencils anything else into the equation. Anyways, my sob story aside - why does a foreign accent seem to make a man more interesting/attractive/mysterious/approachable (delete where applicable)? Why on god's green earth do many American women find the British accent so exciting? What's the exact reasoning behind this?

Oh yeah, if this topic has been done to death before recently, then I apologise - I checked using search and I couldn't find much on this issue.

Cheers. :redface:

IntoxicatingToxin

Cherished Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Straight, 1% Gay