Legendary Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
Do you think that gay men are less inclined to have stable relationships?

I've been in London for 2 years and I only had one chance to meet someone for more than few dates.

It's certainly also because of me:
I'm quite shy, introvert and not very confident about some features of my body. I find it difficult to "sustain" a prolonged talk with a stranger in a date context where I feel the other person is forming an opinion of me. I'm totally different with friends and family. I also don't go out often.

I'm studying and working full time since September so I don't have much time/ money to dedicate to dating, going out etc...

Do you think I should just wait for a better moment of my life to think about a relationships?
Which strategies/context/experiences could help me to cope with the stress I get from dates?

Vasko

Superior Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
PS: One thing I wanted to mention is have a look at London Friend (www.londonfriend.org.uk) - its an organisation which has been running for some time, off scene, offering counselling and support but also just a space to hang out, community groups, drop-in cafes etc etc. They're very welcoming and might just provide you with a safe space in which you can talk to someone.

headbang8

Admired Member
Media
Sexuality
80% Gay, 20% Straight
Dates are horrible things, aren’t they? For all the reasons you describe.

I’m kinda with @ohiorod on this one. Discomfort because you feel like you’re being judged won’t be stopped with an alternative dating strategy. No matter how busy you are with study and work, it’s worth taking time to reflect on what’s good about yourself. @Vasko’s suggestion is good, too. It’s great to meet other gay men in a non-sexualised environment—for fellowship and openness.