Gluten free, dairy free, sugar free, fml.

My son can't eat gluten, dairy, or sugar, I also have milder food sensitivities to the same things, so I'm changing my diet too. So far, so good. He was looking so much better within only a few days, that I will definitely not be having gluten, dairy, or sugar in my house any more.

At first I managed fairly well, as I can cook, and have been vegan or sugar free in the past, so I'm not a total novice. Then the other day, I saw all the cheese in the supermarket, and I just wanted to cry, because I love cheeses. Cheese is an integral part of my life, and necessary in most of my favourite recipes. :(

Anyway, aside from grieving the loss of cheese, I am struggling a bit as I'm trying to follow three special diets in one. GF recipes often contain dairy, DF ones often contain gluten and sugar, and so on. Also some places on the internet suggest removing grains altogether, which I'm not so sure about.

Basically, any advice or good recipes, or book recommendations would be very much appreciated.

AlteredEgo

Mythical Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
So, when dairy-heavy recipes call for starch, it is usually a thickener. Substitute with a nut "flour" if you can, and experiment with xanthan gum. When you buy a bag of it, it will seem costly, but you're going to be using the tiniest bits of it at a time. I've had the same bag since July. It is natural. It's actually the ground, dried husks of a specific insect. It is miraculous in its ability to hold particles together. It is flavorless. Be careful. Too much and you can turn anything into gel, or worse, give it the consistency of snot. Just a tiny, tiny bit. Read up on it.

Sugar, unless it is part of the structure of the thing, can easily be replaced with stevia, but stevia is bitter. I find a bit of crystallized lemon or lime counters this, but then you may taste the lemon. Most of the time this is welcome. Sometimes it is not.