Goin to the Gym

coolguy04

Just Browsing
Media
I've visited this board for sometime but never really posted much. Im a semi slender guy who would like to start going to the gym. I will honestly say that i dont think im incredibly hung by the standards of this site. I've measured and its about 7in. I will also state that i've never worked out in a gym other than when i was in high school and we had to during gym class. I really want to start working out and getting alil more cut, defined, and really just alittle stronger. I dont have a gigantic amount of confidence and I guess im hoping that going to the gym will help with that. My biggest fear tho is that i dont know what to do if i go, i know some of the machines but im no expert. Im afraid of all the other big burly guys starin and laughin, stupid thought, I know but is there anyway around it?

Anyway any advice is appreciated and I hope my lil rant made some sort of sense.

Well thank you for reading!

yurkon

1st Like
Media
Sexuality
90% Straight, 10% Gay
I'd suggest sticking to machines initially because there is less risk of having horible form. Form is everything with free weights. Most machines have a picture and directions.

If you're bent on doing free weights, start out light because poor form won't do as much damage. While form is always important if you are over 30, it's even more important because you body will recover more slowly.

About how old are you, that will dictate what you do and some other things.

Media
Most gyms have personal trainers that can help you with your form and set up an initial training program. If you feel more comfortable, set up a time when the gym probably will be less busy. Don't worry about what other people think either. If that really bugs you that much, then you are going to have a miserable life.

B_Nick4444

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight