GRE Subject Test?

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by Imported, Nov 10, 2003.

1. Imported

Gold Member

mindseye: Took the Math subject test on Saturday -- as a longshot, did anyone else take that test, too?

Those of you who've taken subject exams before, what'd you think of them?

2. Imported

Gold Member

ish789: Exams shouldve never invented they shouldve let ppl become smart on their own and never invented school. Except for college... Well the last exam i took drove me nuts, was a Geometry test. Couldnt even remember half of the math to it.

3. Imported

Gold Member

Ineligible: As a teacher, I have to agree, exams aren't a good way to assess learning, and they are not a good way to drive learning. The best way to learn is to want to learn, and be interested in learning.

The trouble is, they are the only way to be reasonably sure you're assessing the student's own work, and not someone else's. If another way of doing that was found, it would be a great benefaction to teachers and students.

4. Imported

Gold Member

ish789: thats why they invented FCAT in Florida

5. Imported

Gold Member

mindseye: [quote author=Ineligible link=board=99;num=1068520979;start=0#2 date=11/10/03 at 20:12:54]As a teacher, I have to agree, exams aren't a good way to assess learning, and they are not a good way to drive learning. The best way to learn is to want to learn, and be interested in learning.

The trouble is, they are the only way to be reasonably sure you're assessing the student's own work, and not someone else's. If another way of doing that was found, it would be a great benefaction to teachers and students.[/quote]

Well, yes and no -- I think at younger grade levels, you're absolutely right. By the time someone's taking the GRE, it's pretty much a safe assumption that they're already driven to learn, and want to learn more.