Greatest Cult and Oddball movies

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by Imported, Mar 7, 2004.

1. Imported

Gold Member

gigantikok: I know we had a thread a few weeks back about laughably bad movies. It gave me an idea to start a thread about great cult movies. I am interested in watching all of the greats. Any suggestions on which top the list? I've already seen "Rocky Horror Picture Show" over 50 times, though, so don't feel the need to suggest that one. :)

2. Pecker

Pecker Retired Moderator
    Gold Member

You've inspired this movie nut to open his VHS vault:

Bagdad Cafe
    Delicatessen
    Repo Man
    Freaks
    Harold and Maude
    Motel Hell

I'm just getting started but I've gotta leave room for the rest of you guys...

3. Imported

Gold Member

mindseye: Hmm, I'm not sure what you mean by 'cult', but here are a few suggestions. I was going to limit myself to ten, but ended up with eleven (a la Spinal Tap. Drat; that's twelve!) Let me know if you want more suggestions. ;)

"Classic" cult films:

• Shock Treatment: The sequel (!) to RHPS features more songs, like "Denton USA", and "Little Black Dress". Beware: It's really bad.
    • Attack of the Killer Tomatoes: Genetically-engineered cannibal tomatoes star in this film. There were two sequels, but stick with the original.
    • The Toxic Avenger: Melvin the janitor falls into a vat of toxic waste and transforms...
    • Repo Man: Harry Dean Stanton and Emilio Estevez. Car thief turned repossessor. Plus UFO's!
    • Pink Flamingos: Easily the grossest of John Waters's "cult" films, this is the one that has the infamous (and real) poop-eating scene.