Guitarists: question, not penis-related

DC_DEEP

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
I have been looking for a specific model of guitar - Alvarez 5054. Are any of you familiar with it? The company no longer manufactures this model. I have done internet searches, trying to find a used one for sale, and I have found hundreds (maybe thousands) of other models, but not the 5054. The closest similar model I have seen is the RD20S12. Can anyone give me a comparison of the two?

When my brother was a senior in high school, he had self-taught on a very cheap old off-brand 6-string. My Mom and I decided to get him a better guitar, since he had progressed very well. We weren't rich, so we went shopping to find the best compromise between quality and price, and found the Alvarez 5054 on sale at a local music store. I strummed a couple of chords and fell in love. We bought it, and now, 31 years later and with a moderately large collection, he says it is still his favorite guitar and has even improved with age and regular use.

All the internet reviews of this instrument are rave reviews, so I guess that's why no one wants to sell them.

Thanks in advance for any feedback any of you can give.

djegoi

Cherished Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
90% Straight, 10% Gay
cant help you man, sorry. I'm a pretty big guitar fan but i have no known connections for that one. I'll keep my eyes open though for you, maybe i stumble across one

DC_DEEP

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
djegoi said:
cant help you man, sorry. I'm a pretty big guitar fan but i have no known connections for that one. I'll keep my eyes open though for you, maybe i stumble across one
Thanks, I hope so. But considering the experience I've had with that particular vintage model, and the commentaries I've read online, I'm beginning to think that anyone who has one is not going to be willing to part with it. <sigh>

mephistopheles

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
69% Gay, 31% Straight