Help me pleeeeaaaase! Trojan horse infection

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by B_mitchymo, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    Has anybody encountered the trojan win32/heur virus? I've just caught it on my laptop and it is interfering with my access to any pages not in my bookmarks...i.e. if i did'nt have lpsg in my faves i would'nt be here now. I tried using all the defense systems on my comp to try and remove the threat but no luck......

    ....can someone find out what this virus is doing, how i can remove it and possibly a great free trojan horse killer!
     
  2. VeeP

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,787
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
  3. StormyB

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,368
    Albums:
    7
    Likes Received:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    Verified:
    Photo
    Hey mitchy, I don't know if this will work for you but whenever I get a virus of any sort I use this program "Avast" just type in *Free download Avast* in the google search engine and you should find a free download. After downloading that I do a complete scan of my computer, then I use this program "Startup control" you can download it HERE and additional information about how to use it and all. *I always start my computer in SafeMode before I use this program, so that the spyware,trojan, or whatever can't access the internet :tongue:

    Hope that helps you, and good luck getting rid of that pest!

    (O and I forgot to mention, be sure not to download any of the pop up's your computer sends, not even the ones that are advertising spyware removal software, because most of those are viruses themselves. And if you are getting random pop up's of a certain spyware/virus deletion program, than check your programs because that virus removal program could be sending the ads itself..and you can just uninstall it.)
     
    #3 StormyB, Aug 19, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2009
  4. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    thx you 2, i'll give them a try
     
  5. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    'Cannot find server' when i clicked this link :confused:
     
  6. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    Download Malwarebytes. It's the best out there right now and its free at download.com. Update it. Run a quick san. Then run a full scan. Check drive C. and run the scan. If you can run it in the safe mode. Restart your computer and hit the F8 key a few times. Click on the program and run it.
     
  7. VeeP

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,787
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Probably because your browser is jacked. Might try setting a fave to www.malwarebytes.org/mbam-download.php and see if that gets you there...?
     
  8. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have a question for you. When you do a search and click on the link will it take you to the page you are looking for or to another unrelated page?
     
  9. msmooooth

    msmooooth New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southern California
  10. built4big

    built4big Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    don't what virus scan ur using ..AVG works great for me...been a lifesaver
    goodluck M
    J
     
  11. MrGoodDate

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    near Kansas City
    Get a Mac. lol. I spent beaucoup bucks on spyware and virus programw; then bought a Mac. I have not had a problem in three years. I know the naysayers say Mac can get infected, but I have never known one to get a virus.
     
  12. D_Sylvester Poleclimber

    D_Sylvester Poleclimber Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    restart in safemode with networking and try to access the malwarebytes website to download the software. if it doesn't work, go to C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc and open the file "hosts" with notepad. erase "malwarebytes.org" or "www.malwarebytes.org" and save the file.
     
  13. EddieL999

    EddieL999 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    dude,
    also try Ad-Aware form lavasoft.com - it's free (don't bother with the paid version unless you want the extra features)
     
  14. D_Jared Padalicki

    D_Jared Padalicki Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,104
    Likes Received:
    33

    I warned ya for me Mitch, but nooooooooo, won't listen... :rolleyes:

    No, go to a specialist, had a trojan three weeks back and my cousin "the specialist" solved it. Don't mess with ya computer.
     
  15. Industrialsize

    Staff Member Moderator Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,286
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States
    I have been using Macs exclusively for 15 years and have never had a "virus". I don't have any virus protection software on any of my computers.
     
  16. nudeyorker

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    42,918
    Likes Received:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NYC/Honolulu
    Me too. I've burned through countless Dell's and I've been on Mac for a year with no problems.
     
  17. B_Monster

    B_Monster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    9
    I use McAffee security center protection on a Dell for 3 years now with no problems at all.
     
  18. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    It took me to yahoo's home page every time i clicked a link to any site at all, even when trying to download malware software from cnet it would start the download and then become corrupted somehow which had never happened before with cnet downloads, i always use the site for free software.

    Anyway the good news is that Avast, despite taking an hour to complete at boot-up found 5 trojan horses only 2 of which i knew about and the problem is now resolved.

    Thanks StormyB for the suggestion. :smile::smile::smile:
     
  19. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    I use AVG too but this virus was way too much for AVG to handle, although it found the trojans it was unable to remove them or even quarantine them. I am pleased to have Avast as an extra for the things AVG can't sort.
     
  20. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England

    Hahaha, you said i would regret having you back, were you somehow behind this mister? I bet you spent your time away hacking into lpsg to get my I.P. address....if i get a stalker in the next few weeks i'll know its you.....and i'll have to start leaving my curtains and doors open when i'm in vulnerable stages of undress! :tongue::biggrin1::rolleyes:
     
Draft saved Draft deleted