Help! My internet keeps cutting!

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by B_mitchymo, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    Two nights ago i lost connection completely, i ran all tests and found no fault with my wireless connection or my broadband hub, there were no faults in my region as i checked my providers helpline.
    Tonight i am losing connection again, it is allowing me on but only for a few short minutes until my browser loses connection.
    I keep getting a windows report after scanning for problem report and am told there is a DNS error.

    What might this mean exactly?
     
  2. D_Relentless Original

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,839
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Not sure Mitchy, i have been having this problem for a while now, it disconnects so much, even when it is working and i click to another thread or page i get a page saying Unable to display page and it does not save the previous work i have done. I cleaned out all my files, cache's, virus and spyware check to no avail, its so frustrating.
     
  3. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    I think i'm being watched by MI5, gotta go...
     
  4. luka82

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    somewhere
    It is I:):):)
     
  5. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    Are you chewing on my phoneline?
     
  6. DaveyR

    DaveyR Retired Moderator
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northumberland
    All Mods are monitored by MI5. Didn't you know? Also in real life Rob E is Stella Rimmington :wink:
     
  7. luka82

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    somewhere
    I`m chewing on your cawk!!!:biggrin1:
     
  8. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    clearly you after an altogether different bamboo juice...
     
  9. luka82

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    somewhere
    Screw bamboo!
    Pandas are after cawk in the 21st century!!!:biggrin1:
     
  10. rbkwp

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    29,276
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland (AUK, NZ)
    have a fear your system may want you to spend .. uhm
    350 odd Pounds on an upgrade Mitch? ha
    enz
     
  11. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    Hahaha, that would be bad, i've spent it already. :redface:
     
  12. Joll

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14,506
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    722
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wales (GB)
    Me too - spent ages sorting a router out etc...still randomly disconnects when it says all is fine. Put me old one back instead cos it's more reliable lol.

    It's not wireless is it?...or just normal and still cuts out?
     
  13. B_Hickboy

    B_Hickboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    That twinge in your intestines
    Wrap the sharp edges in scotch tape. Good luck!
     
  14. B_mitchymo

    B_mitchymo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    yep its wireless. its behaving right now.
     
  15. Joll

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14,506
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    722
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wales (GB)
    The ones with internal antennae are useless. I got a new wireless n one cos the range is good - but it keeps doing that cutting out thing, so I went back to me old one. bah.
     
  16. AlexSedai

    AlexSedai New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MI
    First - try a simple ipconfig /flushdns & ipconfig /registerdns (Copy and paste that exact line into Start > Run)
    This should hypothetically solve any issues where webpages just don't seem to be loading.
    Otherwise:
    Step One: Hard wire your machine - if this does not solve the issue, proceed to step 2
    Step Two: Hard wire into your modem - if this does not solve the issue, proceed to step 3
    Step Three: Contact (ISP) and ask them to test your modem - if this does not solve the issue, proceed to step 4
    Step Four:Throw computer out window, kicking and pounding heals on the floor. (If this does not solve the issue, let me know.)
     
  17. RalDudeHangin

    RalDudeHangin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Is it a laptop? Some newer laptops have power routines that will reduce power to the wifi card. My Toshiba has an eco mode that kicks in automatically when I'm on battery power. I constantly loose my signal. But when I plug it in it's fine. I finally found a fix for it: set this power routine to max performance instead of "economy".

    You might also want to uninstall your drivers and let windows re-install them. (Not quite sure how to do this, a friend walked me thru it.) Be sure your windows updates are current, too.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted