How old were you when you started your career?

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by galaxus, Aug 7, 2011.

1. galaxus

galaxus Member

I'm a 23 year old man. I graduated last year with a bachelor degree in physiology. I was working as an EMT in Flint, MI and Math Tutor for a year.... until I decided that being an EMT in Flint sucks because the people who employ you suck, the people you work with suck (including the police), and the people you serve suck.... also the 50 min commute was giving my wallet a beat down.

I always knew that I didn't want to do this for the rest of my life. I wanted to take a year off to really experience what it's like to be an adult. To be free. But now, I'm ready to start climbing again. So I said fuck it.

Now I'm solely a math tutor (it pays more anyway, and I don't have to worry about the law) and focusing on applying to med school.

How long did it take you to start your career? Are you were you want to be? Do you still have plans? Are you content with what you're doing?

2. RideRocket

Gold Member

I pretty much joined the military after college and haven't looked back since. I love what I do and as long as I'm having fun, enjoying myself and the military keeps me, I'll stay in. However, still haven't figured out what I'm going to do when I "grow up".

3. nudeyorker

Gold Member

I was about 14 when I started my first career. I've had a few more since. Life is journey and each road I traveled down I found something interesting to keep me occupied.

4. galaxus

galaxus Member

I"m not talking about your first career. I'm talking about the career which you plan to keep or the one that you have now.

5. Hoss

Gold Member

Albums:
    When you think that many people suck the odds are usually that it's you that sucks although not in a useful or good way.

6. nudeyorker

Gold Member

Oddly my first career is now the one I am working in full time.

7. Hoss

Gold Member

Albums: