How to compliment someone at the gym?

Satur9us

Sexy Member
Media
Hey guys, just a question I thought you might have an opinion on...

I've been going to my local YMCA in NY for a few months now. Progressively I've gotten more comfortable just being around other naked guys—partly this is also due to my time in the sauna at school before I graduated. I should note that I'm gay, but I'm not "cruising" or anything at the gym. I'm happily in a relationship.

But eyes still wander, of course, and I wonder: is there a way to compliment a guy on his package and show my appreciation without coming across as too... I dunno, skeevy? Had any good/bad experiences on the subject?

Calboner

Superior Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
Compliment a guy on his build -- maybe, if done tactfully. Compliment a guy on his "package" -- absolutely no way, unless you actually ARE cruising; and you might as well be, if you are going to try such a thing, because that's how it will be taken.

Steve26

1st LPSG Member
Gold
Platinum Gold
Media
While it's nice of you to want to pay a compliment, I have to agree with the previous responses: Just don't do it.

There's no real upside here for you. If the guy happens to be straight, you'd probably never see his package again. If he's litigious, you could be sued for harassment. If he's a homophobic lunkhead, you could be assaulted.

I've had my share of appreciative glances and stares ... but an actual comment, even if complimentary and well-intentioned, is a whole different ballgame.

Steve

thkbeercan

Admired Member
Media
Sexuality
50% Straight, 50% Gay