How To Really Honor The Military

Discussion in 'Politics' started by pinspotter10, Aug 29, 2010.

1. pinspotter10

pinspotter10 Member

Okay, a bit of a rant:

As a vet, I'm sick of the lip service politicians in general and conservatives in particular pay to "honoring veterans."

My dream was that then president George W. Bush would go to a civilian university to deliver a commencement address and urge the graduates to consider a term of military service, pointing out what a positive influence it was on his life and career.

Just once, I'd like to hear a politician (John McCain?) actually deliver a speech in which he would directly encourage the eligible to join up.

2. Bbucko

Gold Member

Albums:
    Republican feel that they have the military (and vets) in their pocket nearly to the same degree that Dems feel they have LGBTs in theirs (though with less justification on the part of the former, the cliché still holds).

Not meaning to derail this thread, but I firmly believe that our military commitments would have taken a sharply different tack if, following the attacks on 9/11, which was a provocative act of war, we'd have re-instituted the draft, just as we did following Pearl Harbor.

For better or worse, the military as it stands now is the clearest and most accessible path most disadvantaged youth have to escape from the dead-ends of their home environments and step into the middle class, presuming that they emerge in one piece.

This post in no way denigrates the military, whether on active duty, on stand-by or as vets. You have my deepest thanks for the sacrifice you make/have made, and deserve far finer treatment than has been your lot.

3. pinspotter10

pinspotter10 Member

Bbucko - no slight of any kind taken. I freely admit I joined up because I didn't have a job and knew I needed to get moving forward on my life.