Worshipped Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
60% Straight, 40% Gay
Can anyone give me some stories on how you've volunteered to help others you don't outright know?

Right now there is a family in my area, i went to school with one of their boys and i know him, he knows me. The other boy, the one i dont know, is suffering a terminal cancer. He's about 32 years old, with a young wife and two children not school aged. Things aren't looking very good for them right now. I've been keeping up with their story on Caringbridge.com since it was announced. I am a silent onlooker at this point.

I clean for a living, and while i'm so behind on some of my own housework, i keep thinking there must be something i could do for this family. Right now they are out of state getting aggressive treatment for him, but i thought about offering to come and do a little bit of house cleaning for them. I am sure they are getting people to make a lot of meals for them or help with their children. The only thing i can think of to help them is coming over for a few hours and getting some of their deep cleaning done.

I am not sure who else to ask at this point, as i try not to let bizarre ideas get too many roots before i get some opinions. I've offered to people who have major things going on that i could come and help, but i feel like if they know you that they just don't know what to say. This is more of an anonymous jesture of kindness. I know sometimes it's hard for me to feel motivated to do my housework and I'm not having to live at the hospital with my husband. I can't imagine how this family keeps up at this point.

Would this be too weird to offer? Has anyone else been able to do something to help out someone they don't know, but know about? Has this been successful for you?