I'll take gay professions for $100, Alex...

earllogjam

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
Interior Decorator
Hair Dresser
Window Designer
Flight Attendant
Antique Dealer
Fashion Designer
Nurse
Florist

Are these really stereotypical "gay" jobs today? If they are why are gay men attracted to these kinds of jobs?

I'm wondering if stereotypes always hold some truth to them or it they are not really based on any fact in this case as there are straight guys in these professions as well.

D_Jared Padalicki

Account Disabled
Media
i'm studying to become an interiordesigner/architect... Those things are known as studies for gay people... but if you see the people who take those classes you would be suprised how many straight people do that.
It isn't the best idea to judge someone because of their profession, but yeah, these days it's normal I guess.

Because they were professions that dealt primarily with women and upper class women at that. The upper classes traditionally tolerated homosexuality with a wink and a nod in a way the lower classes did not. These professions also allowed a way for women to interact with men who would not generate scandalous gossip if these women were seen alone with them.

All this developed in a time when household staff was not an uncommon thing. Even middle class families had at least one housekeeper while upper class families had staff ranging from the single digits to veritable armies. At the same time, women could only be in the presence of non-male relatives when a chaperon was present. That could range from a lady's maid to another close relative. Engaging with strange men, even if vendors or married male friends, was seen as inappropriate.