Is Xtube Delivering malware?

Discussion in 'Straight Adult Websites' started by SouthernSpunk, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. SouthernSpunk

    SouthernSpunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N Alabama
    I've been having problems with Xtube in the last month, and it's gotten to the point where I don't visit the site anymore.

    Three times now, a Java script will load and take over my computer by running a false virus sweep and demand I load their antivirus program. If I don't, I am punished with the virus locking up my computer. It also steps on my running protection (webroot) preventing me from doing a real scan and remove.

    I have to turn my computer on and off several times to catch the BIOS to go into safe mode and then turn on Webroot as fast as possible before the virus reloads.

    Is anybody else having this problem?

    BTW, I am not an agent for any websites trying to damage Xtubes business. But it's been going on for weeks now and certainly Xtube is aware of the situation by now.
     
  2. vindicator

    vindicator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    382
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey SouthernSpunk,

    Ive never had any issues with xtube as far as malware and i'm sure if there were a big problem on xtube, others would have reported it as well.

    I suspect that you have actually been infected prior to using xtube. It's possible the virus is using a java script exploit in xtubes code. What are you using right now for antivirus/antispam software? There are several options to try to remove the virus. If you try the Trend's online scanner Housecall. HouseCall - Free Online Virus Scan - Trend Micro USA

    Microsoft's free AV package Security Essentials comes highly rated and its FREE! (Can't beat free ninety ninety) I've found its caught and removed things no other scanner can. http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=e1605e70-9649-4a87-8532-33d813687a7f



    If you're not a fan of Microsoft both Avast and AVG also offer free versions and work well.
    http://free.avg.com/ca-en/download-free-antivirus
    http://download.cnet.com/Avast-Free...0019223.html?part=dl-85737&subj=dl&tag=button

    You might need to have the AV package create a bootable disk or usb stick to be able to scan your drives without your OS being loaded in order to fully remove the virus. Some cannot be removed while the infected OS is running.

    I hope that helps!
     
  3. davidonio

    davidonio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Madrid (ES)
    You are right, I have been infected two times after browsing Xtube. I cleaned my hardisk by using freeware Combofix. The malware was, in both cases, a file called 'catchme.sys'. It slows the performance of the CPU by adding tasks you can not see in the taskmanager.
     
  4. basstoo

    basstoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indiana
    ya its happend to me 3 times from xtube too I use the malwarebites it catches it then i do a boot time scan with Avast,but it sucks ii dont go on there anymore!
     
  5. hesastar18

    hesastar18 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    california
    you know what ive been having the same problem, its deffentily give people malware , i didnt know why it kept happening now it all makes sense its XTUBE
     
  6. StaffnRod

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Never Never Land
    I will insert my 'survival format' successfully used for several years:
    Suggestions based on dealing w/ a WinXp-IE Compt. vagaries- since 2005

    -Your HD boots or starts Win. at least, so it is likely OK but infected by Malware/Spyware-
    -The very first thing many Help sites advise with such Win. performance issues - Is to get Malwarebytes and

    use 2 basic tools to cleanup a Windows system.
    }The reason for this is MalwBytes finds certain insidious Trojans/Malw. embeds down to the core level...
    } These Can/Are totally missed by usual Symantec-AVG daily scans.(& likely many other AV & AntiSpy)
    If you have not done already:
    Basic Disk Cleanup Tool:
    - From Start> My Computer> C: Right> Properties> Disk Cleanup> /all Temp.Inet files > OK to delete - (Or in

    FFox > Tools menu >select 'Clear Private Data'.)
    - From Start> Control Panel> System Prop.> Sys Restore tab> Turn off Sys Restore
    - Then Close & Reopen browser
    - Then D.load Free program(or copy) to Desktop from Malwarebytes
    - Open the folder/Find and click file- 'mbam###.exe'- Follow the install prompts
    - Close your Browser and Email programs complete
    Malwarebytes:
    - At First Main screen- click Update Tab > Check for Updates button (to insure latest)
    - Likely will have a reboot or Restart NOW....BUT Disconnect from the Modem FIRST
    - Open Malw.Bytes main page,.. Select Quick Scan.. (when time allows do- Full Scan> C:.. )
    - Accept any backups/deletions offered and MalwB. logs all steps (for reversal)
    - On reboot Normal (or to Safe Mode if many found), - Review MalwB. >Logs & Quarantine tab
    Check Disk Tool: (the setup steps)
    - Plan to Run 'Check Disk' - setup steps herein are for novices,(Sorry for abbreviations)
    - Start> My Computer > C: Right> Properties> Tools > Check Now button.. and Click both boxes > OK
    } message box pops up ... > OK 'to allow on next Restart' .. then choose based on ~ 2 hr. run time
    When Ready To activate / Run 'Check Disk' :
    - Close all Programs ..Disconnect from the Modem.. then Start > clickTurn Off button then Restart
    - Watch On a normal Restart ..... a blue screen appears informing of ChkDsk utility..
    - ChkDsk will start running, see if OK into phase 2 -- it takes 5 long phases so
    - Walk away to let ChkDsk run (try to note time of day)
    - Assuming all goes well and you return to a clean Win. desktop,
    - try to Open/Run several progs. MSWord, Adobe,etc.. and Start> My Computer > C: Right>Explore
    } CHECK IF .. all OK and Normal pages Open and function
    } From Start> Control Panel> System Prop.> Sys Restore tab> Turn ON Sys Restore
    }Note: ONLY NOW.. Reconnect the modem and ...again Reboot the computer
    -When back to Normal Windows, can right click the dual monitor icons next to time display to check the

    Status/Enable your Web connection, If needed.

    - See if this 3 step process gets you a clean, faster and normal Win. computer - hopefully
    > If not, simply close, advise of your Compt./ OS & with notes of any above-- messages seen/ errant functions..
    - As there is one more crazy step, I may suggest you check before I would forward you on to true Win Help forum experts... '''

    Hope this or parts of it are helpful at this point ...
    as I continue to survive amidst these ever-changing newer attacks..
    Maybe I'm just lucky - but now browse w/ the much better FFox 3.6+
    :up:
     
    #6 StaffnRod, Feb 27, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  7. bakardi420

    bakardi420 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oh Canada!
    My AVG has caught a 'Crimepack exploit' or something 3 times going there somewhat recently.
     
  8. Countryguy63

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14,488
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    near Monterey, Calif.
    Verified:
    Photo
    AHA! Thank You! Now I know where it's coming from. It got past my AVG once, but has been caught a couple times after. I just didn't put it together until now.

    Doesn't make me happy. I like xtube :frown1:
     
  9. SouthernSpunk

    SouthernSpunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N Alabama
    I wanna thank you all for your answers and input. I am actually on the point of buying a new computer for other reasons. Everybody knows to steer clear of .RU porn sites, but hell, if it's getting thru on Xtube, I clearly need a secure system to do my work on, and a pr0n computer (this old one) that I can risk infection or disablement.

    I agree with Countryguy63. I actually like XTube because I prefer "real sex" video, compared to using models. (I just can't get into women that I know would never give me a second look in real life.) This is a real disappointment.

    Thanks again for the detailed ways to address this.
     
  10. RalDudeHangin

    RalDudeHangin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Ditto here. I was getting hit with Malware from Xtube, too. I had AVG and then switch to Microsoft Security Essentials. So far it has stopped all attempts. The "warning" messages pop up frequently that it's blocking this, blocking that and so ar so good. Best part is Essentials is free and it takes up relatively very little space.. especially compared to bloatware like Norton's...
     
  11. bluesatin

    bluesatin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just use Firefox, Opera or Chrome and you'll be fine.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted