It Needs to End

amhersthungboi

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
69% Gay, 31% Straight
This is a letter I recently sent to a moderator. I am posting in the forum for rational, polite discussion. If the moderators can't help us, we need to do it ourselves:

This is my first time contacting a moderator, so please forgive me if this isn't the correct format.

I don't mind the on-going Obama/Clinton debate ... it is one that is going on nationally and internationally, and is important. However, what is irritating is when critique of a candidate (be it that candidate's character, experience, or policy) is rebutted with personal attacks on the intelligence and character of the person making the critique. I have, as much as possible, tried to focus on my qualms with the other candidate, and the reasons for my preferences for my candidate. I attempted not to resort to questioning people's intelligence, as has been frequently the case in other posts.

It seems as though everyone is missing the point that events and speeches can be interpreted differently, and those different interpretations are certainly up for debate and critique. However, when posters are calling all those who do not agree with them stupid, it stifles debate and causes hurt.

I am not perfect in this regard, and for my contributions in making the atmosphere more tense or too personal, I do apologize. It is an emotional and personal issue for many, as elections should be. However, it just seems to be going too far, getting too mean-spirited and personal, and ultimately losing track of the election, issues, and candidates and becoming too focused on "us" versus "them".