I've been struggling with a condition for some time now...

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by D_Thoraxis_Biggulp, Apr 19, 2008.

1. D_Thoraxis_Biggulp

D_Thoraxis_Biggulp New Member

... and I must say, Writer's Block is a horribly vicious cycle. Trying to work around it leads to a headache, which then makes the Block worse. The worse the Block, the worse the headache.

2. uncut1234

uncut1234 New Member

fire up the bong

3. D_Thoraxis_Biggulp

You know, I actually used to do that with my first serious attempt, but that only made matters worse. I went back and skimmed over it only to find boatloads of plot holes and inconsistencies.

4. latte0ne

latte0ne New Member

Try focusing on something else for a while. Maybe it's bad becuase you are giving it so much attention.

5. D_Thoraxis_Biggulp

That's usually what I do. Also, trying to write after watching a bad movie doesn't help either.

6. goldeneye

goldeneye Member

I've been writing professionally for a few years now, but I've written all my life and because I know how good I am, I am an insane perfectionist and demand nothing less than the very best from everything I write. It really makes it a living hell a lot of the time. Just today I was helping a friend who's a performer write a new bio for her website, and it was nothing big at all, but it took hours because I agonized over every sentence. It turned out very nicely, though, and most of the things I work on end up being really good...in fact, what sucks is more often than not, the more I agonize, the better the piece ends up turning out. I nearly killed myself a few weeks ago over my magazine's cover story, and it ended up being really something quite special and one of the best things I've done, and it's raised my stock quite a bit within the field. I don't know what to tell you...every writer has a different way of dealing with writers' block, but I've kind of learned that even when I'm able to manage it in different ways, it's always goin