LGBTA/GSA etc...at schools

D_Ironside Lilydew

Just Browsing
Media
I came out less than a year ago, and last semester here at school (I'm currently a sophomore in college) I had a pretty rough time internally with emotions/thoughts, all the usually stuff, lol.

The thing is, is that I don't have hardly any gay friends in real life and feel like it'd be a lot easier if I had some gay friends around here to just to hang around with and be completely myself.

I guess one part of this question is how do some of you guys meet other gay guys to hang out with, I'm not talking about hooking up, just hanging out..not even as boyfriends.

We have an LGBTA here at my school and I went to two of the meetings the beginning of last semester and I never went again. I'm a really outgoing and friendly person, but I felt like everyone there already knew each other and they were all really "cliquey". And for the most part the people there, and the things they discussed were all about "I'm gay so my life sucks and nobody understands me...etc....", and that's not me at ALL!!

Anybody have experiences with LGBTAs or anything like that or any advice??

Thanks!!

Fiendofdopeisland

Sexy Member
Media
When I came out in college, I began attending a group at the same time. Yes, they were definitely cliquey (sp?). There's no way to get around that, but I think you're going to find that in almost any group. But, people that are insecure and going through a lot may be a bit more judgmental to newcomers. I don't want to say gay people are going to be cliquey, but I've run into that a lot and not just in the group I joined.

Luckily, there are going to be people in the group you can form friendships with. Hang in there -- that's my advice. And you never know what can happen. I met my partner in the group, and here we are, more than 5 years later, still together!

Good luck though. At least you're (probably) in a more open-minded place, being at a college campus.

vindicator

Sexy Member
Media