Liberals are Smarter!

Discussion in 'Politics' started by sparky11point5, May 12, 2009.

1. sparky11point5

sparky11point5 New Member

2. pym

pym New Member

YUP!

3. B_Hickboy

B_Hickboy New Member

I'm neither. I guess that makes me smarter than any of you bastards.

4. pym

pym New Member

Your a HickBoy.

5. MalakingTiti

Gold Member

Albums:
    I have a degree from an Ivy League school and consider myself a liberal, however I don't think conservatives are inherently less intelligent. I do think by their very nature and definition of their "movement", they are less receptive to forward progression. Think about it, if the founding fathers were true conservatives, they would never have left England.

6. sparky11point5

What was the Buckley quote? "Conservatives stand athwart history" roughly. I think this captures it. Republicans were once radicals -- supporting abolition, emancipation, food safety, national parks. If I were alive in 1900, I could have voted Republican. Now, they defend Wall Street bonuses, foreign tax havens, torture ... Not just the status quo, but downright *gothic*.

7. B_Nick8

B_Nick8 New Member

New York City, by way of Marblehead, Boston and Ge
    Oh, Sparky. Can't you post something with a little zing? This thread is so self-evident I dozed off while opening it.

8. D_Tully Tunnelrat

D_Tully Tunnelrat New Member

Funny thesis, but I hope it's not true, for I do like an intelligent debate from the opposing point of view.

The demise of the right intellectually, and philosophically seems to follow the life of William F. Buckley. What I liked most about Buckley was his ability change his mind, something sadly lacking from today's primarily socially conservative group.