mac web cam suggestions

Dendrilite

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Gay, 1% Straight
Hey buddy, I use Yahoo or aMSN. I suppose iChat doesn't work on your mac eh?!?!?

Good luck

Hi I am new to the web cam world. I have a mac that is imcompatible with the i-sight format.

Does any one have recommendations for a 2001 dvd special imac?

suggestions, comments, rude pictures welcome.

Thanks.

LeeEJ

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
Incompatible with the isight format? huh? Isight is made by apple as is the mac? What is incompatible?

The current iSight standalone camera is FireWire-based (although the new built-in ones reside on the internal USB bus), and if I remember right, his old iMac doesn't have FW.

I don't know of any that I'd recommend offhand (I use an iSight on my G4 iBook, and it's friggin' great), but probably any USB webcam will work.

I'd go dig around www.lowendmac.com and see what they'd recommend.

What I also don't know is if iChat will recognize older webcams. You can install OS X on your five-year-old iMac (possibly up to 10.4, too), but iChat-to-webcam compatibility would be my question.

blackbirdsandfloorboards

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
Unsure
Thanks LeeEJ. I do in fact have some firewire ports, so thats a bright beginning.

But I didn't think that with my operating system (10.3.9) and the speed of my iMac (400Mhrz PowerPC G3) was compatible with the stand alone iSight camera (that is based on previous research and my horrible short term memory).

The other concern I had with the iSight camera is the fact that you have to PAY to use AVchat. Is this your understanding too? I currently am a Yahoo user, and was hoping for a cam that could accomodate my mac and this format (without paying extra $)

I will check out your link. Thanks.

Thanks to all who responded to this link. With your help, maybe I can show my boner to you all in real time!!:biggrin1:

LeeEJ

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay