male nurse in hospitals

shawnpaul2

Just Browsing
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
I worked in a private hospital and rest home with about 150 residents. What I have discovered is that the older female residents (about 80- 100 ) residents do not wish for a male nurse to attend to them also some of the men complain that the female nurse do not wash/shower them properly especially their penis well such as rolling back the foreskin especially if they have are catheterize so they sometimes are a bit smelly. so I end up have to give them a proper shower when ever I'm working on the ward which has a lot of men
do any of you guys who have parents at rest home have these problems or when u go to the hospital do u have a problem with female nurses?

Industrialsize

Mythical Member
Gold
Platinum Gold
Media
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
I am a Nurse and worked in acute care. I found it was younger females who would sometimes balk at me taking care of them. Older women were fine with having a male Nurse..The thing that would bother me is people saying"Oh youre working as a Nurse until you become a doctor"...I would always say, why would i want to do that?......The other thing that bothered me was people would say, "Are you a MALE nurse?"......My standard reply was "No I'm a registered nurse"

midlifebear

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
60% Gay, 40% Straight
Just a quick anecdote -- and an alarmingly true one. My father endured 5 separate surgical ablations of the interior of his bladder over 4 years in an attempt to stop a form of bladder cancer that attacked the interior surface tissue like a bad case of fungus. He even had his bladder irrigated with irradiated TB in an attempt to clean up the cancer; sort of like fighting fire with an nuclear weapon.