Manager Infatuation

Discussion in 'Relationships, Discrimination, and Jealousy' started by _Auron_, Dec 25, 2009.

1. _Auron_

_Auron_ Member

Last week on Thursday I began a new job at a grocery store as a courtesy clerk (which is a essentially a bagger+cart returning guy), though I applied for cashier they decided to have me as a courtesy clerk until after Christmas was over. Though I've had plenty of retail experience before, I didn't mind since it'd help them transition me easier regardless. Though not totally important, that's how this started.

Last weekend on my third day or so, a 'Non-Food Manager' (in other words someone who manages the misc items/sections of the store) who I will call E was asking me if I knew our customer service routine, told my front end manager that he was going to borrow me for a bit while were slow, and had me follow him and answer questions while he stocked and moved items in the store and back of the store. I was able to answer all of them perfectly as most of the routine is nearly identical to most retail stores (and I've had plenty of experience, as previously stated).

Now to remind you, E's a manager in a different department of the store, so I don't see him very often. However, being a courtesy clerk (for now) I go all around the store, in and out of the store, all over the place all the time. Since this is the week of Christmas (by the way, Merry Christmas to all!) we've needed extra help at the front getting customer assistance, extra cashiers, extra help in the parking lot, etc. -- so I've seen him more than I normally would. I had noticed him on my first few days but he never seemed to notice me until after he talked through our customer service program; ever since then he's known my name, and every time he meets eyes with me and/or passes by me, he nods and gives a huge smile toward me. Not a grin, or a smirk, but a huge smile.