Martial Arts

crewkid

Experimental Member
Media
Hey,

Thinking of starting up Shotokan (a style of Martial Arts) just curious if anyone has experienced any problems with size and any form of martial arts.

thanks.

clownboots19: Best thing about taking Karate is the changing room afterwords..that should be quite interesting....

kahuna9995

Just Browsing
Media
The only problems I had when I praticed Tae Kwon Do was finding
a large enough cup that wouldn't rip my trousers when we did splits.
Also quite uncomfortable when the cup would touch the ground when
doing the splits.

Bluespeedoz

Expert Member
Media
Hi

I wear a extra large safe-t-guard cage cup or an adidas microlight hard cup for climbing. I don't find either that comfortable but there again the point of wearing a cup is to protect a toolbox which these do very well.

Captin_hung: ive been doing muay thai for about 3 years now and i found that the plastic cups dont really stand up to the punishment (i kick my mate by accident and the cup folded in ouch) so i found some metal cups i wear them i just feel safer lol

MASSIVEPKGO_CHUCK

Legendary Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
In Isshin Ryu, there is a great deal of emphasis on quick power, so you really have to shop around for a plastic cup that is extremely impact resistant, along with extra padding so you aren't pissing cherry wine after an accidental snap kick gets through.

Incidently, there Speedoguy, I wasn't aware that fencing was ever really considered a martial art.

SpeedoGuy

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Straight, 1% Gay
Originally posted by MASSIVEPKGO_CHUCK@Dec 7 2004, 03:49 PM

Incidently, there Speedoguy, I wasn't aware that fencing was ever really considered a martial art.

Maitre 'd arms, Charles Selberg, one of the few Americans to win gold in international competition, has described it as one of the few western martial arts, along with boxing and wrestling.

SG

hung

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Straight, 1% Gay