My credit score...not sure what it means

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by Rommette, Aug 21, 2009.

1. Rommette

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo
    Ok....so I went on this site to see my credit score and they said its 721. I'm not sure if that's good or bad. Im a 21 yr old college student. The only thing i've ever had was a student loan that I paid off last month. I always thought that having no credit means your credit score is zero. Can someone tell me what my credit score means?...im clueless

2. D_Ho Lee Fuk

D_Ho Lee Fuk New Member

Over 700 the better. You are fine.

3. D_Relentless Original

Albums:
    I think that there is a scoring matrix with the score, bad, fair, good, excellent, i joined my credit history yesterday, so i am still learning it myself, it is a little complicated though.

4. Penis Aficionado

Gold Member

720 is excellent credit. Two years ago you could have bought a house, even with no money and no job.

5. rob_just_rob

Gold Member

Your credit score is a gauge of how well you handle debt. If you make your payments on time, and are never in default, your score will be good. Multiple late payments or defaults will damage your rating.

721 is a decent score. Below 680 is not great. Below 600 and you're in some trouble. Above about 780 is stellar.

Bear in mind that it's only one factor taken into consideration, should you need to borrow.

6. D_Relentless Original

Albums:
    My credit score is 820, but i still cannot get any more credit, i pay everything on time, never default, no CJC,i have a great credit history, baffling.

7. D_Relentless Original

Albums:
    Hey rob, i have been told the more times you go for credit, i.e getting a loan and a credit card application and checked it can affect your credit rating, seems starnge, would you think that was correct?

8. rob_just_rob

Gold Member

That is correct.