NASA Finds New Life (Updated with Pictures)

JustAsking

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
I'm not a scientist but I have wonder about something that can live as a result of posionous matter; is that really a good thing?

That is an interesting comment. I am curious why you had a reaction to that. A poision is nothing more than a chemical compound that is incompatible with an organism's biology. And if the biochemistry of an organism is different enough, then the set of compatible and incompatible compounds for it would be different than other organisms.

Or, to put it another way, one organism's poison is another organism's food.

What interests me is how its DNA will position it in the tree of life. Is it different enough for us to consider it to be "exobiotic"?

JustAsking

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
Arsenic to build DNA, that's interesting

In this organism, the arsenic seems to replace the role played by phosphorous. This is not too surprising in some respects since As and P both appear in the same column of the periodic table. They both have a 4 molecule form that has the same tetrahedral shape. As4 and P4 form a pyramid shape with three atoms at the base and one above them.

There are quite a few chemical reactions where arsenic can be substituted for phosphorous. So its not puzzling that arsenic can be used in biochemical pathways.

What is puzzling is why this particular organism is not susceptible to the way that arsenic interferes with the production of thiol which are chemical groups that play important roles on different sites of enzymes. This is the chief reason why arsenic is toxic to most organisms.

One more comment to nudeyorker's question: Arsenic used to be used in a lot of different medicines before antibiotics came along. And it is still used in some cancer treatments. So one man's poison might also be another man's life saving medicine.

Last edited:

JustAsking

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality