New budget apparently eliminates direct US govt. involvement in human spaceflight

D

deleted15807

"I'm just an old country doctor. I'm not a miracle worker, Jim!"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVhcB9ucmdg

This really bums me out. Thoughts?

The NYTimes article says:

If implemented, the NASA a few years from now would be fundamentally different from NASA today. The space agency would no longer operate its own spacecraft, but essentially buy tickets for its astronauts.

Obama Calls for End to NASA’s Moon Program - NYTimes.com

Last edited by a moderator:

Zeuhl34

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
Really? Really? Goddamnit. NASA is ~0.5% of the national budget, and they're cutting it?

D

deleted15807

Really? Really? Goddamnit. NASA is ~0.5% of the national budget, and they're cutting it?

No........

Under the proposal, NASA’s budget would rise to $19 billion in the 2011 fiscal year from $18.7 billion. It would also get additional increases in subsequent years, reaching $21 billion in 2015. In total, NASA would receive $100 billion over the next five years

midlifebear

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
60% Gay, 40% Straight
I apologize, Sargon. It's this old age thing, damn it! Thanks for the correct correction. :rolleyes::redface::smile::biggrin1:

Gotta get back to finishing my process for creating invisible, super-stregth aluminum. Bye bye now.

Last edited:

B_VinylBoy

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Gay, 10% Straight
No it's not. The space program has resulted in numerable advances in science and technology that directly benefit us Earthlings.

You can continue to do space exploration with the use of robots and technology. In fact, most of the latest discoveries in our solar system were done without launching a single living thing in a rocket.

You don't need humans in space to continue the research. Hence the current cuts. Makes sense to me.

D

deleted15807