New to the world of open relationships (m/m)

buzzrider7

Superior Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
80% Gay, 20% Straight
Hi all,
After four years with my wonderful partner, we've decided to shift into having an open relationship. This is the first time for both of us. We both feel very comfortable with the idea of both ourselves and the other being with somebody else (in theory at least!). I was the driving force in bringing this about and will probably be the one exercising the option more for now at least. But, it's something we've discussed in hypothetical terms off and on since last summer, so it did not take any convincing, pleading, etc. We talked a few weeks ago when I said I was ready to give it a try if he was still open to it, and he said yes.
Since I'm brand new to this, I'd love to hear some advice from others who have gone through this process and perhaps made some mistakes along the way that could be shared and possibly avoided myself. There's a little concern of going hog wild and hooking up left and right at every opportunity just because I can, like a kid who has been told for years to stay out of the candy shop, but has suddenly been handed a wad of cash and is told to go buy whatever he wants. As fun as that sounds, I think I'd feel pretty icky afterward if I did that. Safety is of course paramount as well, and I have no desire to partake in anything high risk. (Sucking sizeable uncut cock is by far what turns me on most in life, so there will be some of that!)
Anyhoo, I'd love to hear experiences, lessons learned, advice on avoiding possible problems, issues, etc. that anybody might care to share. Thanks!!

AlteredEgo

Mythical Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response