New York City - What to do?

D_Miranda_Wrights

Account Disabled
Media
Sexuality
No Response
So, I'll be in NYC (E 50th & Lexington area) from Friday evening through Tuesday. My dad had some great suggestions but hasn't been there for a few decades. Anyone have any recommendations that might fly under the radar?

Just some parameters:

1. I'm a poor college student, so nothing too spendy.
2. I'm not big on touristy stuff. I'll be on my own, so I want to take an opportunity to try stuff off the beaten path.
3. I'm open to new experience and would love something I can't do in Seattle.
4. I'm a big city guy...I love vibrancy, density and stimulation.
5. I love food.

With that said, I would really appreciate the advice of you fine folks :D Thanks!

D_Fiona_Farvel

Account Disabled
Media
Sexuality
No Response
One good thing, the weather is unseasonably warm, has been all year, so there aren't many things you won't be able to do outdoors (though you will need a coat or winter fleece outerwear - last week had some of the coldest temps of the year and I was still like, damn, this is lovely. :biggrin:).

What's your price range for food and any cuisine or item you def. want to try? Maybe some of the amazing food trucks around the city? Also any specific interests for new experiences?

Just as an opener, my fave pizza place: L'asso on Mott L'asso - Little Italy - New York, NY

Last edited:

D_Miranda_Wrights

Account Disabled
Media
Sexuality
No Response
One good thing, the weather is unseasonably warm, has been all year, so there aren't many things you won't be able to do outdoors (though you will need a coat or winter fleece outerwear).

I know! I've been checking Weather.com in disbelief all month...57 degrees on Thursday. :biggrin1:

What's your price range for food and any cuisine or item you def. want to try? Maybe some of the amazing food trucks around the city? Also any specific interests for new experiences?