NEWBIE ALERT Sound the alarms

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by steve319, Mar 29, 2005.

1. steve319

Gold Member

Yes, it's true, I'm new to LPSG. But why not jump in with both feet?

Several days ago I ran across a mention of the LPSG on another site and, on a lark, I decided to check it out. Imagine my surprise when I found such a thoughtful and diverse group of people creating an environment of honesty, debate, and encouragement. Wow! The openness and compassion with which often taboo topics are discussed here has me eager to keep reading and learning from the experiences of others.

As a teacher, I’m excited by the prospect of participating in discussions where diverse thought is encouraged and ideas have the power to influence and change attitudes. As a liberal man in the rural south, I’m thrilled to find a group where people are so welcoming and open to the stories and opinions of others, without regard to race, age, gender, sexual orientation, or any other means we so often use to divide ourselves. (While I take issue with the general stereotypes of the south, I have to admit that my opportunities to discuss topics of such personal, sexual, and social weight with other men are few. Southern men, particularly rural southern men, often aren’t very good at male bonding.)

So I have to say I’m pretty darned excited about the LPSG! I mean, based on what I’ve seen by lurking around this past week, this level of candor is the kind of social ideal we should be striving for in our personal lives, you know? God knows I’ve messed up enough relationships and let friendships die out by not being able to be as open as I should be.