OBGyn- ladies

HiddenLacey

Cherished Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
I have a question. I have a horrible anxiety issue when I go see my doctor. And I don't mean like the normal hatred. I mean I'm going to throw up at any second my heart rate climbs up around 99 and my BP hit's something like 160/95 and literally I'm shaking it's all I can do to lay there and not run screaming out of the office. I'm full of horrible nerve racking anxiety. I work in the medical field I've been around many dr's and nurse's and I've never had this issue. And it's not just when I go to see him, if I know I have to go there to have my BP checked I immediately start freaking out.

I have been seeing the same guy for 8 years. Everytime I go he threatens to take me off of my BC pills. At that point I bought my own BP monitor and I take it everyday sometimes 2-3 times a day and anytime I have a slight headache and document it so I can argue my point. I actually bought 2 different ones so they couldn't say my machine is calibrated incorrectly. It is always normal 110/72 and my HR is about 68 on average.

I've talked to several people I know personally about it and they all say it's normal to feel this way. Some say it will change after I've had a baby and I'm more used to going all the time. I've thought about changing to a female vs a male but then I lose the dr I've know for so long. Does anyone have a similar issue and know how to deal with this aside from taking medication like valium or xanax or something to decrease my anxiety?

Last edited by a moderator:

D_Sparroe Spongecaques

Experimental Member
Media
Not personally.Who told you your BP would lower after having a baby? I've had 6 babies and never and still don't go to my GP anymore or any less than before i had them.

I personally wouldnt advocate talking your own BP as surely it rises as you take it as you are probably expecting it to be higher than is normal.Does that make sense?