Office nickering and back biting

Discussion in 'Women's Issues' started by Dr. Bubbles, Jul 14, 2004.

1. Dr. Bubbles

Dr. Bubbles New Member

Ok. Here goes. I have a situation at the office and I need some advise on how to deal with the problem (s).

I am an university administrator for our campus and am younger than most individuals in similar positions, especially here. Being in my position, I have a staff that I directly supervise of 12. Those 12 have additional staff they surprise bringing the department and my responsibility to a staff of over 60.

I am up for a promotion. :D YAY!!! The problem, however, is that staff do not understand nor can they accept that I am moving quickly up the academic ladder, especially those who have been here for years.

The men are fine with it and congratulatory (although I know a couple of them are leary about my professional growth) with my advancement. However, the women are not. I understand our "ways," but there has to come a time when things subside, especially in academia. I need to know how to address these issues because I will ultimately, if I am advanced, have to address them later on. I really thought my management style would help in easing into this position but obviously it has not. I hate to be a micro and I hate to have to become the "bitch," but the actions, the attitudes and the comments will destroy the composition of the department if something is not done. The current head is retiring and knows what the problem is, however, he is retiring. He said he will not deal with it. GRRRRRR

Ideas? Suggestions? HELP!

2. Imported

Gold Member

Tender: ...

3. KinkGuy

Gold Member

Length of time on a job does not automatically entitle you to a promotion or raise. Hard work, job performance, effectiveness and results are what get people promotions. Produce or perish. No one owes us anything. We make our own success. bblumbee, congratulations, no doubt you earned it...now go forth and manage well !!!!

4. Imported